Nineth government medical faculty starts in Sri Lanka

The historical first batch of the nineth medical faculty of Sri Lanka’s government universities was recruited today, 10th December 2018 at Wayamba University.

First Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of Wayamba University is Prof. M.D. Lamawansa, MBBS (Ruhuna), MS (Colombo), PhD (University of Western Australia), FRCS (Edin), FCPS (Pakistan-h.c), FASI (India-h.c), Hon . FAMASI (India-h.c), FCCSL (Sri Lanka-h.c).

The first intake is 75 students. Construction of the buildings of the faculty is underway in Kuliyapitiya. The professor Unit of the medical faculty will be established in Kuliyapitiya Teaching Hospital which is being upgraded by the Ministry of Health.